Back to top anchor

News archive

Governor-General to visit Dunedin

News and updates
Issue date: 
Thu 15 Sep 2011
The Governor-General, Lt Gen The Rt Hon Sir Jerry Mateparae, and Lady Janine Mateparae, will tomorrow undertake their first visit to Dunedin since being appointed last month.

Credentials Ceremony

News and updates
Issue date: 
Thu 15 Sep 2011
New Governor-General hosts his first credentials ceremony

NZSAS death in Afghanistan

News and updates
Issue date: 
Sat 20 Aug 2011
The Governor-General and Lady Susan express their condolences

Jaguar sale

News and updates
Issue date: 
Tue 16 Aug 2011
Government House limousine to be sold

Order of New Zealand Dinner

News and updates
Issue date: 
Thu 11 Aug 2011
Members of New Zealand's highest honour to visit Government House Wellington

Governor-General to visit Lyttelton

News and updates
Issue date: 
Thu 4 Aug 2011
The Governor-General, Rt Hon Sir Anand Satyanand, and Lady Susan Satyanand, are returning to Christchurch tomorrow (Friday 5 August 2011) to visit the port town of Lyttelton.

Investitures at Government House Wellington

News and updates
Issue date: 
Mon 1 Aug 2011
Cricketer Stephen Fleming, Silver Ferns Coach Ruth Aitken, plastic surgeon Professor Swee Tan, businessman Christopher Parkin, former Mayor of Wellington Kerry Prendergast, winemaker Allan Scott, and educationalist Sir John Graham are among more than 120 people whose diverse achievements will be celebrated at investiture ceremonies at Government House in Wellington this week.

Bravery and service recognised

News and updates
Issue date: 
Mon 25 Jul 2011
Investitures at Government House Auckland

Governor-General leaves hospital

News and updates
Issue date: 
Thu 14 Jul 2011
Sir Anand to recuperate at Government House

Governor-General in hospital

News and updates
Issue date: 
Mon 11 Jul 2011
Sir Anand resting in Auckland Hospital

Bravery recognised at Government House

News and updates
Issue date: 
Tue 28 Jun 2011
The Governor-General recognises brave New Zealanders

Credentials Ceremony

News and updates
Issue date: 
Thu 16 Jun 2011
New ambassadors from Viet Nam, Argentina, Algeria and El Salvador presented their credentials to Governor-General Sir Anand Satyanand at a ceremony at Government House, Wellington on Thursday, 16 June 2011.

Matariki Reception at Government House

News and updates
Issue date: 
Tue 14 Jun 2011
The Governor-General will host a reception to celebrate Matariki at Government House in Wellington tomorrow evening (15 June).

Governor-General farewells Northland

News and updates
Issue date: 
Mon 30 May 2011
Governor-General, Sir Anand Satyanand, and Lady Susan Satyanand will begin a two day visit to Northland tomorrow (Friday 27 May). 

Investiture ceremony for Sir Tamati Reedy

News and updates
Issue date: 
Tue 24 May 2011
Māori leader to be knighted

Governor-General to visit Finland

News and updates
Issue date: 
Wed 27 Apr 2011
The Governor-General, Rt Hon Sir Anand Satyanand, and Lady Susan Satyanand are to make an Official Visit to Finland after attending the Royal Wedding.

Royal Gift details announced

News and updates
Issue date: 
Mon 18 Apr 2011
Governor-General welcomes gift to Prince William and Catherine Middleton

Investitures return to Government House

News and updates
Issue date: 
Mon 11 Apr 2011
First investitures in Wellington House in more than two years.

Take the bus to the open days

News and updates
Issue date: 
Thu 7 Apr 2011
Public urged to use public transport to get to Government House open days

Investitures at Government House Auckland

News and updates
Issue date: 
Tue 5 Apr 2011
Rugby League legend Steve Price and veteran broadcaster Phillip Leishman are among more than 30 people whose diverse achievements will be celebrated at investiture ceremonies at Government House Auckland this Thursday.

Governor-General enters social media world

News and updates
Issue date: 
Mon 4 Apr 2011
Government House has established an Official Facebook Page and a Twitter account, on behalf of the Governor-General, to communicate with the thousands of New Zealanders using social media.

Bravery awards

News and updates
Issue date: 
Sat 2 Apr 2011
Acts of bravery recognised in special honours list

Credentials

News and updates
Issue date: 
Thu 31 Mar 2011
New ambassadors from Turkey, Portugal, Timor-Leste, Iraq and Peru to present credentials

Bravery Recognised

News and updates
Issue date: 
Fri 25 Mar 2011
The bravery of three men, who saved two men from drowning in perilous conditions, is to be recognised by Governor-General, Rt Hon Sir Anand Satyanand, at a ceremony in Christchurch on Sunday.

Commonwealth Day message

News and updates
Issue date: 
Tue 15 Mar 2011
The Queen's Commonwealth Day message

Governor-General Designate congratulated

News and updates
Issue date: 
Tue 8 Mar 2011
Sir Anand Satyanand welcomes his successor

Governor-General returns to Christchurch

News and updates
Issue date: 
Mon 7 Mar 2011
The Governor-General, Rt Hon Sir Anand Satyanand, and Lady Susan Satyanand, are returning to Christchurch today (Monday 7 March 2011) to offer further support to those affected by the 22 February earthquake and to those assisting in the clean-up and community welfare efforts.

Christchurch Earthquake

News and updates
Issue date: 
Thu 3 Mar 2011
Governor-General expresses condolences to all those who lost their loved ones in the Christchurch earthquake

Governor-General visits Christchurch

News and updates
Issue date: 
Sun 27 Feb 2011
.

Canterbury earthquake

News and updates
Issue date: 
Tue 22 Feb 2011
Governor-General sends a message of support to the people of Canterbury

Governor-General visits Wairarapa

News and updates
Issue date: 
Fri 18 Feb 2011
The Governor-General, Sir Anand Satyanand and Lady Susan Satyanand will begin a four day visit to the Wairarapa from Tuesday (22 February) next week.  </p>

Death of Private Kirifi Mila

News and updates
Issue date: 
Wed 16 Feb 2011
The Governor-General and Lady Susan express their condolences

Help us improve the Governor-General website

Your feedback is very important in helping us improve the Governor-General website.

1 + 1 =
Solve this simple math problem and enter the result. E.g. for 1+3, enter 4.